1838: A New County to Be Called Chattooga

In 1832, the northwest corner of Georgia was divided into lots and distributed by lottery to citizens of the established counties of Georgia. 1,258 of those lots fell within the bounds of present-day Chattooga County. On Friday, December 28, 1838, Governor George Gilmer signed the legislation creating Chattooga County, comprised of lands from existing Floyd and Walker counties.